External Advisory Committee

The organizational structure for the Center for Studies of Host Response to Cancer Therapy includes an External Advisory Committee. These Board members were chosen for relevant scientific expertise and demonstrated excellence in establishing and maintaining successful multi-investigator research programs.

The following scientists who serve in an external advisory capacity for the Center include:

B. Mark Evers, MD, 

Director, Lucille P. Markey Cancer Center, Vice Dean for Academic Development College of Medicine, University of Kentucky,

Dr. Evers’ research has been continuously funded by the NIH for 20 years. He is currently the Principal Investigator or Director for seven externally funded studies, including a prestigious NIH Merit Award and the Cancer Center Support Grant for Markey Cancer Center, awarded in 2013. Dr. Evers has actively mentored over 70 students, residents, fellows, house-staff, and junior faculty. Many of these individuals are now established at various academic institutions across the country where they have active, independent research laboratories.

Quynh-Thu Le, MD, 

Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology and the McCormick Memorial professor at the Stanford School of Medicine, Palo Alto, CA.

Dr. Quynh-Thu Le is the Co-Director of the Radiation Biology Program of the Stanford Cancer Institute and the Chair of the Head and Neck Cancer Committee of the Radiation Therapy Oncology Group (RTOG), which is a NCI funded cooperative group, running large phase II-III studies for radiation in solid cancers. She has received grant support from the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), the American Society of Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology (ASTRO) Education & Development Award, R01 and R21 grants from the National Institute of Health (NIH). She was inducted into the Fellowship of the American College of Radiology (FACR), the American Society of Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology (FASTRO) and the Institute of Medicine (IOM).

Hartmut Jaeschke, PhD, 

Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutics, Kansas University Medical Center, Kansas City.

Mitchell S. Anscher, MD, 

Professor & Chairman, Department of Radiation Oncology, Radiation Oncology Clinic – North Hospital, Richmond, VA.

Dr Anscher’s clinical interests lies on the treatment of patients with genitourinary malignancies, especially prostate cancer. He has expertise in the use of both external beam radiation therapy and brachytherapy. His research interests include clinical trials in prostate cancer, as well as laboratory and clinical research into the prevention and treatment of normal tissue injury after cancer therapy.

Douglas R. Spitz, PhD 

Professor and Director, Free Radical and Radiation Biology Program, Department of Radiation Oncology, University of Iowa,  Iowa City.

Dr. Spitz is a well-established investigator whose laboratory has made many significant contributions to the field of oxidative stress in cancer biology and toxicology. His laboratory was the first to discover that chronic exposure of mammalian cells to O2•- and H2O2 was capable of inducing genomic instability and gene amplification that resulted in a large increase cellular resistance to oxidative stress associated with cancer therapy. He serves as the director of the Free Radical and Radiation Biology Graduate Program at the University of Iowa as well as the director of the Radiation and Free Radical Research Core Laboratory and the Free Radical Cancer Biology Program in the Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center. He is also the co-chairman of the Carver College of Medicine Research Committee at the University of Iowa that reviews 50 pilot grants/year from young investigators. He is also the PI of an NCI funded T32 Training Program in Free Radical and Radiation Biology, as well as NCI RO1 and R21 grants.